Teaches in North Arlington, Poolville and at your location as long as there is a safe legal range.
Jonnie York is a Texas Department of Public Safety CHL Certified Instructor # 01419410, Who has instructed people in shooting skills in the Metroplex for over 50 years. Having fired on the UTA rifle team in 1968 and 69 and served as a team captain. He assisted in the instruction and qualification of the ROTC classes both years. From 1968 until 1980 he served in and trained the officers and men of the 105th MP Battalion of the Texas State Guard. Some of whom are now local law enforcement officers and firearms instructors. In the 1980s and 90s he has shot with, trained with, and coached, nationally and internationally known champion target shooters. He has been a life member in the NRA, NAHC, and TSRA for over 22 years and a firm supporter of the Second Amendment and your right to defend yourself. This is not just a minimal course to get you your CHL; this is a comprehensive course to help you prepare yourself to survive a life and death situation. Police officers who have taken this course have compared it to police training courses, "a level above the average CHL course." See the referrals in our guest book and please feel free to leave your comments on your experiences with us.
To Begin Your Training Start With CHL-Plus
"Training is a Process, not an Event"
The 2013 Statutes require that the course should be no less than 4 hours of class time on the laws plus 1 hour firearm safety and proficiency training for the student to pass the course. We will start off with firearms training and marksmanship to be sure that everyone is familiar with handling there particular firearm when we go to the range we will go over them before hand. Under the 2011 DPS Qualification Course "any malfunctions that are encountered, the shooter will work through the problem and finish the course of fire in the allotted time." At 2:30 we will go to the "Shooting Gallery Range" for certification at an indoor airconditioned and climate controlled environment. We then return to the classroom and complete the 4 hour course. It is your responsible that you have received the required training and you must submit an affidavit to that effect you must download and read CHL-16. As of March 1, 2011 Applicants must apply on line or download the application and forms and all fingerprinting must be digitally scanned by L1 at www.l1id.com or call(888)467-2080 for an appointment. When you do your application on line sign up for L-1 at that time or you won't get another chance for 2 days and print a copy. Hyperlinks are at the bottom of this webpage for your use.
The first class is classroom covering: 12:30 Registration
Handgun use and Marksmanship: 1 Hr 1:00 pm -2:00 pm
Proper storage practices that eliminate the possibility of injury to a child
Range Proficiency: 1 Hr. 2:00-3:00
The Final class is 3 hours of classroom covers:
The CHL Statutes and firearms laws: 1 Hr 3:00-4:00
Non Violent Dispute Resolution: 1Hr 4:00-5:00
Use of Force and Legal issues: 1Hr 5:00-6:00
Examination and certification: 6:00 pm
There is a tremendous amount of responsibility that goes along with carrying a firearm in public and far more training is necessary than can be given in a 4-6 hour course. This is a start that is adequate to get your license and will guide you in continuing your training process formally or informally.
This is an important decision that you are making and should not be taken lightly. The majority of the course is teaching you how to keep from using your handgun and guide you in saving yourself thousands of dollars in legal fees and still protecting your life and preserve the lives of other persons. Get the most you can from your CHL course, after all, you are paying for it! It is information you may need some day. The last thing you want is having to use your firearm and then hear the other person's attorney in the court room refer to your "OUT OF STATE DISCOUNT CHL". Do it right, get the training, get the real deal a Texas CHL with all the training.
Registered Class Dates and Times at 503 Alaska St., Arlington, TX 76011 (North Arlington) and
Sign up early, this class room is limited to 6 people. For larger groups we will need time to arrange for another location. Advance payment checks can be mailed to Jonnie York, 503 Alaska St., Arlington, TX. 76011
Range Time is 2:30pm for all Saturday courses at the Shooting Gallery indoor Range Fees $11 to $16.
New License 4 hour course plus proficiency Saturday1:00pm till 6:30pm
To be held at 503 Alaska St., Arlington, TX 76011 (North Arlington)
The scheduled course plus proficiency Saturday are;
February 20, 2016
March 5, 2016
March 19, 2016
April 2, 2016
April 16, 2016
May 7, 2016
May 21, 2016
June 4, 2016
June 18, 2016
July 9, 2016
July 23, 2016
August 6, 2016
August 20, 2016
September 3, 2016
September 17, 2016
October 1, 2016
October 15, 2016
November 12, 2016
December 3, 2016
December 17, 2016
If you can not attend these times or dates, other class dates and times can be arranged and my time is flexible. We can teach classes for as little as 6 people at your location if a safe 15 yard range is available on your property and it is legal to shoot there. We have a range in North Parker County that can be used.
One day courses and camping retreat courses can be scheduled on any dates not scheduled in NORTH ARLINGTON above at our Parker County facility located between Peaster and Poolville within 20 miles of Weatherford, Lake Worth, Springtown, Mineral Wells, Bridgeport and Azle.
Can't find the answer to a CHL question email me and I will try to find the answer for you.
Q. Can I get an out of state nonresident license and carry in Texas? F.D.
A. Save your money this is a loop hole that could end up costing you a lot of more. Most states are closing the loop hole by requiring that you must hold your home state license before they will issue their nonresident license. The state ID card presented to the Pease officer demanding identification must be issued by the same state that issued the CHL. (Texas DL would not work with Utah nonresident CHL)
Q. If I get my CHL and I have 1 beer on the way home I can be considered intoxicated without a CHL .008? J.H.
A. It is not the CHL that makes you eligible to be considered intoxicated it is the accessibility of the firearm after having consumed alcohol.
If you are going to be drinking it is best to leave the gun at home or lock it up in a safe in the trunk.
Q. Can I qualify with my 5.7? R.B.
A. No, the 5.7 is a more powerful handgun than required but the state goes by a minimum caliber of .32 inches, 5.7mm is .22 caliber,32 is 8 mm.
908 Walnut Dr. Class Room
Shooting Gallery Range
Poolville Class Room
York Hill Range
ALL COURSES OFFERED MAY NOT BE SPONSORED OR ENDORSED BY THE NRA.